Sy Calaelen

Circle of Isis: Book Review

3 Comments


Circle of Isis

Written by Ellen Canon Reed

I scheduled this to be published the day before last and totally spaced! Only the picture was revealed! — darn me!

This book is simply terrific! (Again, its one of those books where the front cover needs some serious work to attract folks… I’m just saying…) Reed opens up your mind to the world of Tameran Wicca, which is the Wiccan practice of Kemetic paganism (Egyptian paganism). If you pick up this book and have a good flick through, you’ll notice a lot of info on some deities, a calender, how to read and write heiroglyphs and a section on tool making and Egyptian divination! Seriously? Wow!

I didn’t have the opportunity to look at the book before I bought it, but I surfed various reviews of it and I immediately decided to give it a go. 2 bloody months later, it arrived in a large box full of various items I ordered from ‘we-sell-everything-well-no-sex-toys.com‘ aka Amazon. Haha… Good one…

The print isn’t too small and the way she writes is so enticing its hard to put the book down. If you are like me, you’ll be making notes here there and everywhere. Learning things and smiling in awe at the stories you’ll encounter.

The only con about the book, besides the terrible front cover design is the fact that she doesn’t tell you about the religious and historical confusion about the names of deities when writing them in heiroglyphs on each page. Other than that, pair it with Heka by Rankine and Egyptian Paganism by Almond and Seddon, and you’ve got the building blocks to starting your own Tameran/Kemetic paganhood! Yay!!

Wonderful x x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

3 thoughts on “Circle of Isis: Book Review

  1. Oh my gods!!! I love that book!!! it really opened me up to egyptian spirituality. I love that it is written from the authors personal experiences with the gods versus just writing down about what they represent and just their mythologies.(I have read enough books TELLING me things about the gods) It is such a refreshing book and I’d recommend it to any of my pagan friends. ~Em Hotep : )

  2. Pingback: Egyptian Pagan Books: I Recommend! « Sy Calaelen's Blog

  3. Thank you Sis, this will be my first read on Kemet!

Leave a Reply

