Sy Calaelen

Heka: Book Review

2 Comments


Heka

Written by David Rankine

This book perfect for all those who want to seriously settle down and begin looking at symbolism for individual deities, like Anubis. You can flick through nice and easy to view colour correspondences, symbolic gifts like the sistrum for Hathor and Isis, and well as a calender in the back of the book which gives you minimal detail of particular festivals. That was my only problem with the book, its didn’t go into detail at all about particular festivals, but at least it listed them all for you, in case you wanted to coincide them with your pagan/wiccan calender like I have. I refer to this book when setting up a sabbat or festival altar, and its proven fantastic. The author himself is a well known writer, and as far as I know (because I haven’t done my research) he has several books out on esoteric living and magick. I’ll keep you updated once I get hold of a few more books yo!

The front cover, personally could have been different…. I do judge a book by its cover and 50% of the time I am right! ha!

I bought this book at the same time as Egyptian Paganism, by Almond and Seddon. They go hand in hand I say, I can get a prayer from EP and then set up a shrine to a particular god/goddess knowing of their influences. Meditation is soooo much easier when the visual components (and their meanings) are set up to help you relax. That doesn’t mean you worship the statues, they are just visual guides! (something else entirely….)

Check this: http://www.heka.co.uk/

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

2 thoughts on “Heka: Book Review

  1. Pingback: Egyptian Pagan Books: I Recommend! « Sy Calaelen's Blog

  2. I have “Heka” as well and found its tone to be disappointing. There was the sense in the author’s tone that he was speaking as an outsider and skeptic of the Kemetic religion, not as a practitioner. I didn’t complete reading it. I am glad to come across your blog though! I’m an African-American witch/ Kemetic Priestess from State-side and recently started a blog, The Chronicles of Sefek, http://www.otmc-usa.org/wordpress. I am pleased to make your acquaintance! I’m also on Twitter @Sefek7OTMC.

Leave a Reply

