Sy Calaelen

The Book of Egyptian Ritual: Book Review

2 Comments


The Book of Egyptian Ritual

Written by Jocelyn Almond & Keith Seddon

I saw this book and just had to buy it. At the time I was going through a transition with Wicca, as I found it to have have a lot of limitations when it came to the Gods and how to study more into them. This lead to other groups, cults and other forms of worship that aren’t Wiccan. However, this book is perfect for all those who want to incorporate Egyptian symbolism into your Wiccan lives.

It follows the Wheel of the Year, with the Egyptian variation, telling you how the seasons changed on the southern hemisphere and how these significant changes affected the peoples of that time and the Gods and Goddess influences. Each Sabbat is very similar in practice, such as the Harvest of Min and Legend of Ra is Mabon to us northerners. Its a fantastic read, as it breaks down a simple Egyptian rite through incantation and ritual. The only problem I had with the book, were the rituals, as they are to be performed by a group of 4, or 2 if cut down. However hard it may be for those of us who are solitary, it’s a brilliant guide when planning your next Sabbat.

Should you buy it? I think yes, as you will gain a lot of ‘extra’ information, or ideas. Its quite inexpensive on eBay and Amazon. Plus, with most items, you can return them after a cheeky flick through!

Check out my Mabon Blog entries for an example of how I celebrated Mabon.

Em Hotep x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

2 thoughts on “The Book of Egyptian Ritual: Book Review

  1. Pingback: Egyptian Pagan Books: I Recommend! « Sy Calaelen's Blog

  2. That’s the next book I’m after. I recently got Feasts of light by Normandi Ellis, which I’m rather pleased with. But this is on my wish list as I’m really struggling with a yearly cycle I can do with an Egyptian feel to it.

Leave a Reply

