Sy Calaelen

Carpe Diem

Leave a comment


Well, I did say I was going to write about one experience concerning the saying Carpe Diem, so here goes!

(Its a boring story so don’t bother, otherwise read on!)

I was a little performer when I was a child, maybe because I’m a leo so being in the limelight was my thing. I just had to have the latest denim fashions, and I just had to be in every photograph that was taken, posing like an ant on steroids or E.

The first day my aunt and mother realised I’d be a handful was the age of two, when I ran across a main four lane road at the tender age of two. Nothing they could do, suppressed my ability to be a true wild child.

I started Brownies and performed a mock play of Hamlet for the Guides, and guess who I played?? On top of that I was analysing the play in my spare time (geek), the part suited me very well! This was the point in my life when I realised I really wanted to study the fine art of acting. I had various small roles in plays at school, but somehow the teachers left it to me to dress up; and dress up I did! I was inspired by the Gucci dresses shown for the New York fashion show 1996. So there I am come winter, the school christmas play, I was one of the three kings, the one who brought in the gold wearing a long dress and bedtime jacket with gold embroidery. I swear the teachers looked like they were going blind with shock. I fooled them alright for giving me a crap part! Ha!

So my acting flourished and got parts for Macbeth (me), The Merchant of Venice () and Romeo and Juliet (Mercucio). Ah my love for Shakespeare goes deep into my heart…. Definitely not an illusion! I did a few other plays with the local kids drama club. For my GCSE I performed a play called East, but for the love of me I can’t remember the authors name… Though it was set in Bethnal Green, I’m guessing in the 80s and the cast was to be played normally except for the mother who was known to be acted by a man, but guess who got that part and almost fucked up infront of the out of toen examiner?

Carpe Diem would pop into my head before I entered stage left or right. I would shit myself with nervousness (metaphorically speaking folks!) Butterflies would be doing more than just somersaults! My head would just start thinking, ‘Carpe Diem… Carpe Deim!’ And I’d soon calm down.

The adreniline rush I’d feel when doing something spontaneous or planned always leaves a huge lump in my throat. I think back to when my old headmistress said, ‘Go on Sharif, aim high! And remember, carpe diem.’

Why sit back and say, ‘oh I’d love to do that…’ Only never to bother. Don’t do that! If you want to sky dive, research and go and have fun. If you want to surf, then do it! Anything I want in life I go and get it, even if it takes a long time, I’m a determined mother fucker! You should be too 😛

Cease the day!x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

