Sy Calaelen

10 of Swords: Day of Change

Leave a comment


I pulled my daily card, but this day was the start of something new and exciting. I’ve been making friends all over for a while, some of whom I’m no longer friends with and that is fine. Others I love to pieces and we communicate through different social networking portals and that’s great too. A handful of people who live rather close to me I have had the privilege of meeting face to face, but mind you its not something I agree to lightly.

Anyhoo, today I was meeting Miss O in Nottingham. A city famous for Robin Hood and fabulous shops and a great big art style clock. Miss O and I have been corresponding via email, text, calls and Skype for only a few months, but to me she feels like someone I have known for years. Do you ever get that feeling when you meet someone for the first time?

After a long time, we agreed on a date to meet each other to I guess test our friendship in the flesh. Today is that day! Yippee! I am nervous, like any person would be. I’ve only ever been to Nottingham 2x, back when I was a baby so that time don’t count, and a few months back with another friend.

As most morning’s I get up and either do a morning devotion or light a white candle and pull a card, this morning I woke up, pulled a card and sat back trying to decipher its meaning. The iconography of this card, or the entire deck, is inspired by 3 decks. In this case, the 10 swords aren’t hurting the man, and neither is he staying with the swords weeping. 8 swords are stabbed into the ground symbolising that bad things have happened, that have affected me in a very negative light. For me, its my depression that has slowly come back due to old friends. 2 swords are facing up, I guess symbolising hope is not all lost. The man in the background is walking away into what looks like a beautiful horizon. Don’t give up, and don’t let the bad memories hold you back. Deal with them and move on. Its similar to the death card, its looks gruesome but the psychological meaning is renewal.

When I meet Miss O in a few mins (I’m writing this on the train) I will embark on something new. I do have fears that she will end up getting bored of me or whatever, but hopefully I’ll stay positive long enough for her to make up her mind. All I can do is be me.

With the depression however, I have found it very difficult to talk to anyone from my hometown. And going away today will help with getting better. In this situation I am imagining the lotus. The seed can be dropped in the murkiest of waters, but it grows to be more beautiful than anything around it.

Wish me luck! 🙂

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

