Sy Calaelen

Spirituality Makes Me Fidget

Leave a comment


A long while ago, I bought a magazine (which I’ll talk about a lot as its one of my favourites), called Spirit & Destiny. It’s one of those magazines’s that is often overlooked as it sits with the daily real life gossip rags on the shelf. It’s a really good magazine, so if you live in the UK, invest in at least one issue. One of the articles I happened across was entitled, ‘What Spiritual Type Are You?’ According to the article, Dr. Jonathon Ellerby listed the four spiritual types that have particular ways of getting to grips with their spirituality. These four types are Body-centred, Soul-centred, Heart-centred and Mind-centred.

Body-centred types are people who connect with a sense of peace, clarity and balance through physical stimulation, such as swimming, dancing and yoga etc. whilst, mind-centred people are stimulated by focusing the mind, by thinking, praying and talking. Heart-centred people connect with the universe on a more emotional level, perhaps through devotional practices. Soul-centred individuals are natural intellects and philosophers who like to strip away all the layers to see what lies beneath, so they read a lot and talk too.

Meditate

I immediately started to read, only to work out my type, through the quiz sheet they gave. I like doing quizzes, Haha. They gave some pretty simple, yet deep questions and I answered as honestly as I could. At the end of the quiz, I added up my results and basically came out as a soul-centred seeker.

In basic terms, I’m someone who has quite intuitive and psychic abilities. I’m a contemplative thinker, and I have the ability to look at life as it is, and so much more. I see the world, not just the people or things in front of me; I open myself to the mysteries of far cultures and lifestyles. Spiritually I work on my growth with enlightenment in an honest and open manner, so I deal with the good stuff, but deal with and accept any pitfalls on my journey. I don’t hide away either, I’ll happily share my experiences and show others how they can be just as inspired by not giving up too easily. The advice for personal development on being a soul-centred seeker was nice and simple. Repeat the Tibetan Buddhist mantra ‘Om Mani Padme Hum’, for 10 minutes a day, slowly building up to 25 minutes a day.

I agree with this is some sense, but there is more to me, so I cheated by looking up my second best result which was the ‘mind-centred seeker’.

Mind-centred seekers are natural knowledge seekers. Spirituality is something I love to learn and look up. Wondering how the world works, and what makes a person tick is what I love to sit and talk about. I have a sharp mind, in the sense that I could talk you to death about love, life, family, the universe and the production of a movie. It mentioned in the article how mind-centred individuals have a tendency to write up what they have learnt, which is what I do! Unless I can’t word it right, then I’ll vlog it instead. The advice given for my own development was, keeping a spiritual journal and reciting this affirmation, ‘I see the physical world, but look deeper. I hear words spoken, but I listen deeper. I feel the impact of actions, but I sense deeper.’

an abrupt ending…

Sy x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

