Sy Calaelen

World Wide Friends Inspire Me

1 Comment


I was on the phone and Skype (at the same time :P) to a friend I made a few months back (her name is Miss O). I’m pretty old school when it comes to technology so my Windows 2000 doesn’t and for some reason, never liked webcams. (Weird?… Well….) We were talking about everything and anything and it was super fun. Before Skype we spoke on the phone almost everyday, or txted, it was like I couldn’t go on without my daily communication fix with my buddies! Last night though, I sent her a link to an odd documentary called ‘The Real Witch Project’ on YouTube and started talking about that, but something she said clicked in my head and got me thinking…

No matter how many people you meet, what is it that makes certain folks stick together?? Especially when they don’t live in your town or sometimes country?

I have made a ton of friends through various social networking platforms like YouTube, MySpace and a few Ning sites. But each person I begin corresponding with has a little something that I love. Their location comes second as I’m a bit of a traveller and I love to see new things. The main thing that my internet bffs’ have in common, is that we are all Pagan in one way or another 🙂

I’ve been talking to a lovely group of people from YouTube, 6 of which make their own videos, I’ve been able to interact with them outside the YouTube community and its super fun! One of my buds is the ever lovely Jack Copal, he is a super creative flame who lives miles away from me, but the distance doesn’t stop us from sharing news during our ‘every-so-often-not-quite-weekly-gab-on-z-telephone’ (lol!) Another of my buds lives live miles north of some of my extended family in Florida, so maybe one day I’ll pop up and see her.

What is it that makes someone so special that they are regarded as a best friend?? I’ve been asking myself that question for years. Up until last night, within the space of a few hours a day, I’ve managed to tell Miss O almost everything about me, I don’t want to hold back from people, but I am a very guarded person due to folks who have hurt me in the past.

Tracey Emin

Miss O, for example is just amazing. I don’t know why or how, but she is someone I love to talk to, as much as Jack Copal. They gleam with such an addictive attitude that it takes half and hour to say bye on the phone! My bad… 😛 I can’t describe them… But I’m a bit of a writer and when I meet quirky people I have the urge to write about them in some characteristic way, basing their personalities or elements of who they are in my characters. Has this sort of impact ever come to you when you make friends?? I guess I’m weirdly inspired by random people, and I thank them for being who they are. The good, the bad and the downright bitchy. People inspire me in general… Oh well! Can’t help being creative yo! The piece of artwork represents her, I’ll find out how and why, but for now just admire it! Ha! (Actually…. This is gonna turn into another entry… Hmmmmm?)

Looking back I can proudly say, when I was growing up I had 3 best friends, all of whom I would stop the world for, but over the past 2 years, being on the net and the Tube, I have met people who I know deep down will be in my heart too. I hope to meet many more but for now, you special folks know who you are 🙂

‘Strangers are the friends you haven’t met yet’ (not sure who originally said that, but it was in a recent Barbie movie…?)

^_^ Sy x

Ps. Barbie rocks, but I (as an adult with 2 young young siblings, I prefer Bratz! Lol!)

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

One thought on “World Wide Friends Inspire Me

  1. Lol, i just signed up for my firt blog ever. W have the same theme, it was the only one i like. xx

Leave a Reply

