Sy Calaelen

Mabon, Well My Belief.. :)

Leave a comment


It will be the Autumnal Equinox in a matter of days. I know, we have a little more than just a few days, but time defiantly doesn’t stop for me! (Let alone the other man… Whoever he is….)

For me, like all the seasonal changes, bring me a change to the pace of living. Day time begins to shorten and the symbolic understanding of the harvest begins to take heed. Its a time of gathering and basking in the glory of the end of summer, as well the opening of a new season. Okay… For some reason it seems like I’m repeating myself… Lol!!

Mabon, in brief words represents how the sun is beginning to wane. It gives us forwarning that the night will prevail, ands as most Pagan’s believe, this is the time of the Goddess at her most powerful. She is preparing for the coming birth of our Lord at the winter solstice. For me, I’ve never been able to picture the God or Goddess. I tried with Cernunnos and Cerridwen, but they just didn’t seem to fit. For me, I’d go to Cernunnos for matters of the heart, well the physical side and he would help me. For a while now I haven’t been in the mood to go all out at the sabbats. I didn’t feel like I could connect with the Gods, but I did a bunch of small ceremonies thanking them for keeping me safe and alive and most importantly charging them and myself with the energies of the seasons.

Its only within the past few years that I’ve finally able to put a visual form to these sabbats. I follow the greater sabbats and connect myself to those energies with the Greek, Roman and Egyptian pantheons’. I don’t have the image of the same Gods however as with the Egyptian calender various rites and stories were acknowledged.

Mabon as I said before is the time when the Goddess begins to emerge and rule the darker months. This is the time of the Legend of Ra and Isis and the Sacred Harvest of Min. In the video below I talk briefly about the Legend of Ra and Isis, but let me tell you about Min.

Lord Min, Lord Re and Lady Aset

Little is known about Min in popular books 😦 Min is the patron of travelling caravans, and was worshipped by the Scorpion King. Originally Min was the constellation Orion. To the Egyptians it was one of the most god like constellations. He was given the role of God of the sky, though his main duties lay with thunder and rain. Min or Chem as he was sometimes known, was associated with Horus and later Pan by the Greeks.

The flooding of the Nile was an annual event for the Egyptians, but when the draught season was approaching it was believed Ra would be at his weakest due to the snake bite, the land would dry. The Egyptians would then gather as much crops as they could to survive the hot summer. (The calender and seasons on the southern hemisphere run opposite to us up here on the northern…) With the help of Min, they would gather the crops, but continuously give offerings to Isis to appease her in order to get Ra’s true name. Once those offerings were up the Pharaoh would then sow the first ears of wheat/corn and present them to Min. Depending on how Min felt about the offering, four doves would set free to fly. If they flew the right way (which I have forgotten…. Oops!) That would mean Min was pleased and the harvest would be a successful one. Later the Pharaoh would perform a sexual rite with his wife to basically seal the deal. Min was believed to have invented masturbation by the Greeks.

So that’s a little on him…. 😉

(Post vid….)

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

