Sy Calaelen

13 Years Ago Today: Princess Diana

Leave a comment


Where were you?? How did you feel and what were you doing??

I remember. It was a Saturday that I woke up ready to go to church and I ran into my aunts room to find her sitting up in bed, bible closed and staring at the tv. I was confused, ‘why is the tv on? Its the Sabbath?’

She didn’t answer me at first, so I asked again.

‘Princess Diana is dead dear… Sit down and watch with me. We aren’t going to church today.’ She said with that ol’ Jamaican tone. I crawled up onto the bed and looked at the tv in shock…

Mind you this was the funeral, I had no idea she died days before. I was 8/9 years old and had no understanding of death besides what I heard. I never felt grief when my cousin was murdered, I just watched his mother cry. I never understood the loss when my uncle was murdered in Miami, I just watched his brothers and sisters cry. I never understood any of that, until that day.

Growing up, I was like any other little girl, but at that time it was all about denim, Vogue, Madonna, Barbie and wanting to be a beautiful princess like Princess Diana. She was everything. I had a doll I named after her, and I would talk to her day in day out about anything and everything. I was kinda old to have imaginary friends, but growing up knowing only 4 girls like you was kinda lonely.

Life was pretty blissful and I love the Royal family (another blog…), but that day was a bleak day. Everyone had lost a part of themselves and it seemed everything came to a tragic stand still. I remember asking my aunt if Big Ben would stop chiming, but she didn’t answer.

I went back to my room, full of sick upset and cried until I fell asleep. That question played on my mind all day that day… I wished so hard that it wasn’t true, so I looked out the window later on that day and whispered to the air, ‘please say it isn’t true… And if it is will Big Ben stop chiming, it sounds like he’s crying. ‘

*

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

