Sy Calaelen

Book: Eternal Egypt

1 Comment


I tried to film this for YouTube, but I just kept on messing up, so here it is, in written form for me to remember. This is a review as such, or at least it isn’t meant to be, it’s just a personal account on what I like about these books. I haven’t read the entire book yet as I have only just received it, and I have a habit of reading more than one book at a time… my bad! 😛

Eternal Egypt, Ancient Rituals for the Modern World by Richard J. Reidy

The first book I bought is Eternal Egypt: Ancient Rituals for the Modern World by Richard J. Reidy. It’s a book I would recommend to folks who want to really deepen their spirituality with Egyptian pagan beliefs, and for those who want another look at the historical viewpoints of the daily lives of the Egyptians. For a while I’ve wanted to chop and change my devotions to something suitable for me, in the sense that the two devotions I used to do, I no longer feel connected to them. I’m becoming something better, I can feel it. My first step in collecting together my knowledge on Egyptian, Romans and Greek paganism with my lifestyle meant I had to incorporate them through a structure that won’t seem too overloaded. I started looking for Egyptian devotions, to the day beginning or to particular Gods and found loads of info, some of which I took seriously, whilst others I did not. I came across this book on Amazon one day (ages ago….) and it had the ‘Look Inside’ logo above it. I looked it up and loved the layout and the contents. I put it in my basket so I could order it once pay day came, but for some reason, each month something else would catch my eye and I’d either forget about it or click the ‘save for later’ button.

I finally ordered it and so far, it’s more than I expected. So far, I’ve read part of the first chapter entitled, ‘Morning Rituals in the Temple of Amun-Ra’. All I can say (as I’m very excited…. still….) is I’m loving the freedom I have suddenly received. I can now look at and study these devotions and write my own. They are so intense, especially the spiritual significance of events that happen on a daily basis. At the same time, each chant, prayer or incantation is simple and you could easily memorise them, and conduct your own devotions. The author really takes our modern world into consideration when he wrote this book. Most of the practices listed are centuries old and the way of the land wouldn’t necessarily work today, like sacrifice of animals or seasoning and cooking (barbequing) fresh meat on an Egyptian grill for the Gods to consume. The Gods didn’t come down and have a barbeque, the scent and smoke from the meat was symbolic of the animal’s essence going up to the Gods and feeding them, this essence as far as I can remember is known as Ka or Ba, can’t remember. So, no barbeque for me, but listed at the end of each chapter is a list of tools you’ll need for each ritual, and there alternatives, which is great. Another great thing about the book is the fact that, most Egyptian rituals were written to be enacted out by more than one priest, just like a coven performs a ritual, but this book has been written for both coven and solitary practitioner (like me J)

Over all, it’s a fantastic book so far, but once I’ve read it through who knows what will happen? For now, I’ll enjoy it then vlog or blog later! Keep an eye out! But then again…

Em Hotep x x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

One thought on “Book: Eternal Egypt

  1. Thank you for the positive review of my book, Eternal Egypt. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or suggestions. May the Netjeru guide and bless you!
    Richard Reidy

Leave a Reply

