Sy Calaelen

My Angel

Leave a comment


I was on the phone to Miss O, and we started talking about angels and ghosts. A very topical conversation that brings out a lot of questions I hold inside. The whole idea of angels is something I’ve been familiar with since I was a little girl, due to church every Saturday, but the knowledge I had on them was merely Christian belief. I’ve always wondered what Gabriel is like, or what Zadkiel would do if I asked him to come chill with me for the day. Somehow… I don’t think they would let me in.

Castiel

Hollywood has so far produced some of the hottest and most business like angels I’ve seen, most notably Michael played by John Travolta, Castiel from Supernatural, who by the way is one hot angel and Michael from Legion (2010). As much as I like Hollywood’s interpretation for entertainment purposes, I can’t seem to bring myself into picking up books on Angels. Some books I’ve had a good look through, but the way they have been written has put me right off. I do wonder what angels look like, and how they would act… Anyway, I was talking with Miss O and she asked if I’d ever seen or felt an angel nearby. I sat back and had a good deep think and then one memory popped into my head. It was so vivid I can remember it in such minute detail like it was yesterday.

Almost 3 years ago, I was working as a shop assistant in a big household department store. It was an okay job, the pay wasn’t too bad and the location was very close. I walked to and from work after college, and most nights I didn’t leave work until 9pm. It was a typical autumn, so dry but very dark as the sun set early. I had to cross the main road onto the play field opposite to get home. There were two pathways, but I only needed to cross one as I didn’t walk the whole way around, I took a short cut. I spent the last of my teen years around this area and believe me, at this time of night the only people you saw were soon to delinquents hanging out and getting stoned in the children’s park.

This particular night, I had my iPod Nano (in pink… product placement lol!) blaring Mercury by Bloc Party. It was so loud I couldn’t hear anything thing else around me, though if a police car or ambulance came rushing by I would be able to them. I can feel things around me, like you do when you’re trying to guess where people are when your eyes are closed. I learnt that in Kung Fu a while back. For some reason, I was ill and didn’t seem bothered about looking out for myself that night, I just wanted to get home. I began approaching the pathway I needed to cross over, it had 3 lamps lining its stretch. As I approached, I stepped out to cross over and I felt a hand pull me back. Now this is going to sound odd, it wasn’t a pull like a silly nudge, it was a hand dragging me back, so much so I fell back on my ass! And geez, it fucking hurt! When I looked up a bike whizzed right by me at a very high speed. I immediately realised, if that hand hadn’t ‘dragged’ me back, I would have had some serious injuries.

I stood up, my heart was pounding. I stood there under one of the orange lamps and had to breathe again. ‘What the fuck?’ I kept asking myself. I made sure to look both ways and crossed over safely. When I got home I got into bed and… I don’t remember what happened after that…

For a while it didn’t bother me, but it was still something I couldn’t quite put my finger on. A few months later, I bought a magazine that I love, Soul and Spirit, which is great for us spiritual folks. I read one readers letter, about how an angelic cat saved her 3 year old son from drowning by getting the attention of her and her mother, who lived next door. After the boy was saved, the cat disappeared and I believe a feather was left behind. That’s when my mind struck ‘o’ clock. Was it an angel that saved me?

I wonder… still x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

