Sy Calaelen

Muses and Flow

Leave a comment


One day I hope to have my manuscripts published. I have so much I want to say, so much I want to share and so far my blog has proven to be a sound board for my written creativeness. What makes you creative?? But how, as a Pagan or spiritualist, do you connect those talents with the Gods??

I’ll give you a few examples 🙂

I came across a chant on Pagan-Magic.com and I really like the vibe. It was simple, quick to learn (in some sense!) but it stuck with me as a main ‘go to’ chant when I want to do a blessing spell or to get a little flow when I want to write or draw. The chant is below, like I said sooooo simple!!!

‘Muse of Art,
Muse of Sound,
Muse of thought, gather round.
I summon your power,
Your guiding light.
Guide my hand in this creative rite.’

I used this once when I was writing up a new ritual format for Samhain last year. I was tired of the humdrum Wiccan Sabbat layouts and wanted something fresh and exciting. That was around the time I fell deeply in love with the Greek, Roman and Egyptian pantheons and decided on following them until they needed me no more.

So as I was looking through a book I’d bought and it had detailed how to add the Egyptian flare to the conventional festivals. I read through the ritual of Samhain, which to me and the book is the Mysteries of Osiris, and I also celebrate one of the many festivals of Sekhmet, Bast and Ra (which also happens to be Egypt’s summer solstice.

I lit a white candle, which now sits on the altar to Apollo, and inscribed the word ‘Flow’. I then lit the candle imagining a beautiful lady in white standing by me, smiling. A few seconds later she disappeared and my hand and mind began to write. I didn’t stop writing till it was complete. I had the books I needed close by and pictures to draw the Gods and symbols. Before I knew it I’d written up a 7 page ritual (with lots of pictures so its not all that detailed yo!!) I was pleased, and performed my ritual late that afternoon, with offerings in the morning. The video at the end is my morning devotion, though it has changed a lot since (I’ll need to film it once my Flip arrives!)

Along the lines of Egyptian paganism, I developed a strong need to ask the Gods for help with anything that comes to mind. I don’t so much tell or ask them for help when dealing with money or loneliness, I just have a feeling they already know. Sometimes I feel them helping me, though they know I’m a stubborn brat so they don’t bother and I would decline any help. They lull me into lighting a candle and sitting at my altar and just spilling my guts. Eventually I decline and end up in bed or doing chores… Or something.

I love doing my own thing, my concious will kick in when need be and that’s perfect. I call on the muses to help with writing and the small spell or tiny ritual I do is great as I feel their presence with me. How do you get your ‘Flow’ going??

Done now 🙂

Eugenio Recuenco

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

