Sy Calaelen

iGeneration! I’m on the Go…

Leave a comment


I was watching the BBC Morning News the other day and they had a segment on the multi-tasking techno generation. At the same time, I picked up a magazine last month and read about how we are so used to the new wave of technology and the ability to sync everything to your phone, some of us have a 9 second memory rate! Can you believe that???! 9 seconds before we forget what we were thinking about… I think mine is 4 seconds lol!

How do I fit into this new stereotype? Well, I am addicted to my BlackBerry. I have been addicted to BlackBerry’s for the last 3/4 years or so. I got my first phone, Pearl back in 07 and then upgraded (slightly) to the Curve (the one Lauren Conrad had in The Hills S2/S3) and now I have the recent Bold. The applications make it a ton easier to update my status and watch YouTube videos on the go. I get my emails anytime from my various accounts, I sync my tweets with my MySpace and Facebook, as well as my blogs. I see anything on the net and feel the need to tweet it, sometimes people reply and sometimes they don’t. It’s fun either way! I have eBay on the go too, so if I see a luch Prada bag I’m bidding on the go! 🙂

There are tons of apps that make life so much easier at the touch of a button and a slide of a clicker. Apart from communication and status updates, I’m guilty of texting mum when she is downstairs or calling my brother when he is playing on his 360. I’m chatting away to folks on MSN, BBM and using up electricity by using Skype on my laptop.

The one thing I love the most, as for any creative person, you can do your art on the go. Not necessarily painting yo!! But I’m a natural born writer, I love to write. When I feel the urge to write a monologue or short story, my phone is always in reach, and I write away! Its great as I use the Notepad feature to write up random stuff for my Book of Shadows, or if I’m surfing the net and come across a passage I like, I copy and paste and later upload to my computer to print. Its an amazing technological world we live in… But let’s try not to be too lazy!

I can see it now… The New Apple iBabysitter!! Yay!!….

Woop x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

