Sy Calaelen

Love Me and My Gods…

1 Comment


… Or don’t waste my time!

I was watching an episode of Klhoe and Kourtney Take Miami, it was the one where Scott goes a little nuts and smashes a glass mirror and blah blah blah. Anyhoo, Kim is down and she is having a girly chat with her sister talking about her break up with Reg. She goes onto say how he couldn’t quite adjust or adapt to her fame, the paparazzi and her busy schedule. The way she explained it, given this was an edited show, and you only got the important parts, I totally agreed with what she said. It rung in my head for a while and then it dawned on me. Whenever I meet a guy, the first thing I do, when it gets serious, is telling him I’m Pagan. For me that’s the million dollar question. Get it right and I’ll have ya, get it wrong and I’m loosing you like an old bra!!

The last two guys I told (over a year between em… Dnt like the whole relationship thing much….I’ll explain some other time….), took it to a bad place. The first guy took the piss out of me and my beliefs by happily taking my offerings to the Gods for his own gain, because he felt peckish or needed some money. It drove me nuts!! The second guy, well… Let’s just say, he made out he was okay with it, but his face told me otherwise.

Besides men, I’ve noticed many of the people I would like to call my good friends generally don’t give a fuck, and not in the laid back sense. They just don’t want to know anything about me, unless its to do with the globe that revolves around them. I have a ton of friends who are like minded, most of which are from the Pagan YouTube community and others who have known me forever. I should be fine right?? Well… Ya see, most of these wonderful friends don’t live anywhere near me and it sucks. I can’t just opt to drop a lunch date filled with 3 girls bed conquests to chill with a Pagan pal in Brighton… Sucks… !

There is a lot about me that I wish I had in common with the close knit friends (as in friends who live close), I feel stuck. I want to talk about anime and comics, tarot and vegetarian food, but I have no one here who will be interested.

So the whole talk on how hard it was for Kim and Reg made me realise, I’m a unique person, who has a lot in common with a lot of people, and as much as I want to run free like… Like… Erm… Like a whatever… I end up running into a brick wall knowing its there.

I am thankful for meeting people on the net who I find interesting and friendly, and vice versa. For now, my life at the moment is at a standstill and I’m being pushed into the idea of travel.

I love living like a boho chic party gal, and nothing is gonna stop me! Even if it pisses some people off. Its me, either love me or hate me, either way I’m happy! 🙂

Mwah x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

One thought on “Love Me and My Gods…

  1. Hey Sylva

    Just a thought- when you’re seeing if a guy is cool with Paganism, you might want to keep in mind that, if he’s initially hesitant or reserved, he might still be a keeper.

    Not pagan myself, but my husband is. I’ve noticed over the years that paganism suffers from poor public awareness. There’s not a lot of agreement amongst the various denominations on what paganism is, and no central resource putting out information. Because of this, although awareness has improved over the years,most of America gets their information from Hollywood- and Hollywood’s job is telling an entertaining or exciting story, not educating the general populace on your spiritual path.

    So if you see that hesitation or pause, it may not be rejection. It may be that this guy doesn’t know about your path and has Hollywood paganismin his brain. It may be that he could be great if you explain things so he understands better.

    Hope that’s a help

    Catherine
    Foresight

    PS See you’re lacking live pagan friends. We’re getting to the time of year when Pagan Pride days are offered around the country. You might like checking those out to see if you could find some like-minded friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

