Sy Calaelen

6 Tattoo’s and Counting!

Leave a comment


I love tattoos. I love them, I don’t really know when I first fell in love with them, but I love art and the ability to wear art with meaning on your skin is beauty on another level. There is so much I can say about tattoos but I’m gonna keep it brief for the time being as I have yet to collect more. Obviously with anything you have, say or do there are pros and cons you have to consider.

I’m not a tattoo artist, though I can do the odd drawing any day. I love to watch tattooists roll, as like many know they are on a level not many people can get onto. The whole industry is a tough one to crack, but once you are there nothing can stop you. I’d love to tattoo someone but I’m wayyyyyyyy to fidgety to even try. I can draw a dragon with the paper staying in one position, its uncomfortable! Let alone tattoo someone who I can’t spin upside down to shade an area on his shoulder. Tattooists are seriously trained artists with years of history and art behind them and to me its incredible. Times are changing and for a while now tattoos have become part of mainstream society. Average folks who would never dream of having a tattoo maybe 20 years ago are suddenly turning up in the dozens to get traditional ‘Mother’ designs across their hearts. Its nice to see tattoos in a much brighter light than how they were originally received in western society. At the same time you still get the few people who walk into a shop and literally pick a design off the wall.

I’ve grown up around adults who had tattoos either because they served in the Royal Forces or because they just generally wanted a tattoo. I’ve also been around folks who are tattooists and they all give me brilliant advice which is well needed. So far I have 6 tattoos, all of which are small, though my Granddad, as I like to call him due to significance as a Day of the Dead skull, is pretty big, it almost covers the ball of my shoulder. All of my tattoos hold great significance to my spirituality, my personality and my family. The next tattoo is one I’m finding difficult to design as I know what I want, I just can’t place them properly (help??).

What do you all think of tattoos?? Yay or nay??

Mwah x x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

