Sy Calaelen

I Lost My Book… but 3rd Time Lucky?

Leave a comment


I lost my book on a weekend away in Nottingham. Usually when I loose something it doesn’t bother me as its just another material possession, but this book means the world (well almost) to me. The book is Dracula by the British writer Bram Stoker. Why does this book mean so much? Trust me, its a book to be read.

It opens up the mind to thoughts of loneliness, horror and more importantly love. I found this book in middle school. A boy I knew of had a copy of it and like all little children do, was mocking the idea of what the book was about. He was with his friends making quite a bit of noise and the librarian went over after countless times to tell them to be quiet. Eventually she told them to leave and in doing so caught glimpse of the book the boy was hiding.
“You shouldn’t have this? Who is your teacher?”

I don’t remember the full details of what happened but I noticed she put the book on the shelf and went to the computer lab next door. I quickly pushed my hand through the joining shelf and took the book. I was intrigued and wanted to know why this book was soo naughty. Looking back I think she was kinda dumb as the book hadn’t been labelled by that school and she didn’t take the book of the library floor. Oh well, twas mine now! Lol!

I opened the book. It was a re-print from 1991 and the cover was pretty bland. The pages were yellowing as recyled paper does, but there was evidence it was well read. The first 3 chapters were brilliant and it hooked me in straight away. The old Victorian style of writing is something of a guilty pleasure for me, the way words were set and phrased transported me to a world none like mine. Its definitely a classic! (No pun intended here…)

Dracula lives in a big castle, where 3 walls lead down to the mountain edge, so basically the way you came in is the only safe route out. At first I was like ‘dear that poor Jonathon Harker, he would have 1 of 4 choices to live if he were to jump out of a window.’

As a child I was pretty stupid and couldn’t pick up the metaphors that were set in the words. Dracula is a lonely soul, though he has his 3 lady friends and the gypsies who work for him, but he keeps himself to himself. Unable to trust people, due to past afflictions and his depression make it hard for him to ‘adjust’ with the rapidly growing world. So the idea of making the castle sit in it fairly gruesome location is just right. He is one of the undead, as with many vampires their tales are stories of love and more importantly, life after death. They are having to start all over again and its a time of thought and contemplation. Looking at other humans makes them realise life is a delicate thing and it can be taken if not careful. When he locked Jonathon up, he made sure Jonathon knew there was no way out and that he might as well succumb to it. Again, a metaphor, the life you lead is yours but others ‘tell’ you how to live it. Dracula has surpassed that, hundreds of years before, which sadly resulted in the death of his beautiful wife. He can sit back and not only take control of his life, but of others now too.

Dracula by Bram Stoker

In a way I compare elements of Dracula to my life. I love life, but I hate being tied down to what others tell me to do. I want to choose my own career, my own house and if I want to buy a designer bag for £300 then I will! Obviously exercising common sense! I want to be able to go to the edge without falling over the precipice, but to experience it all is most needed. I want to record my experiences so I can look back and say, ‘well at least I tried it?’

So after years of reading and re-reading that book the front and back cover fell off and eventually the first 7 pages fell off and the last few fell off too! I’d say for about a year my mind can’t settle knowing something has gone missing and I need it back (OCD?) I threw away the old one and only 3 weeks ago bought a new one, which had been partnered with (product)RED! I love them!! So not only have I bought a classic novel, but may have saved a life doing so!… Then I went to Nottingham and bloody lost it! I bought a new one yesterday, but this one is not leaving my sight!!!!! Yarrrr!!!!!

Another vampire book I can’t live without is The Vampire Lestat by Anne Rice, definitely the best thing since Dracula!

So check em out and let me know what you think!!!

Mwah Sy x x

Ps. If you buy Dracula, make sure you buy the ones with (product)RED as 50% of its funding goes to the charity! Yay!

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

