Sy Calaelen

The 42 Truths of Ma’at

Leave a comment


My morning devotions have been chopped and changed so many times. Though I change my layouts and chants etc I don’t ever throw them away. Its more of an update that I do and they are great to refer to when writing about them or talking with other Pagans. I have 2 versions of a morning devotion. The more expansive ritual has the chant, a prayer maybe, meditation and a witchy sun salutation. I no longer view the sun as just male like Wiccans do, I view the sun and moon as made up of both male and female attributes and deities. For example, the sun is warm, loving and nourishing like a mother? Ever thought of that? The moon is stern, kind and insightful like a father.

Anyhoo, I have added the 42 Truths of Ma’at to my ritual, just before meditation, that way I can meditate on them and listen to the Gods. As for my short ‘gotta-go-soon-so-forgive-me!’ Devotion, I recite a chant of prayer with candles lit for the Gods and have my large gold candle to my patrons and matrons lit, sitting on my altar to Apollo. I do a quick meditation or breathing excercise, or I skip the meditation and do a witchy sun salutation. All is fun! I’ve added the truths here for your use.

From the Papyrus of Ani
 
1. I have not committed sin.
2. I have not committed robbery with violence.
3. I have not stolen.
4. I have not slain men and women.
5. I have not stolen grain.
6. I have not purloined offerings.
7. I have not stolen the property of the god.
8. I have not uttered lies.
9. I have not carried away food.
10. I have not uttered curses.
11. I have not committed adultery.
12. I have not lain with men.
13. I have made none to weep.
14. I have not eaten the heart [i.e I have not grieved uselessly, or felt remorse].
15. I have not attacked any man.
16. I am not a man of deceit.
17. I have not stolen cultivated land.
18. I have not been an eavesdropper.
19. I have slandered no man.
20. I have not been angry without just cause.
21. I have not debauched the wife of any man.
22. I have not polluted myself.
23. I have terrorised none.
24. I have not transgressed [the Law].
25. I have not been wroth.
26. I have not shut my ears to the words of truth.
27. I have not blasphemed.
28. I am not a man of violence.
29. I am not a stirrer up of strife (or a disturber of the peace).
30. I have not acted (or judged) with undue haste.
31. I have not pried into matters.
32. I have not multiplied my words in speaking.
33. I have wronged none, I have done no evil.
34. I have not worked witchcraft against the King (or blasphemed against the King).
35. I have never stopped [the flow of] water.
36. I have never raised my voice (spoken arrogantly, or in anger?).
37. I have not cursed (or blasphemed) God.
38. I have not acted with arrogance(?).
39. I have not stolen the bread of the gods.
40. I have not carried away the khenfu cakes from the Spirits of the dead.
41. I have not snatched away the bread of the child, nor treated with contempt the god of my city.
42. I have not slain the cattle belonging to the god.

Ma'at & Isis

BB x x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

