Sy Calaelen

And the Other Reason to Why I Love To Write…

Leave a comment


What shall I start with?…
It all began, when I was a young child. If I wasn’t drawing, I was writing stupid poems about ants and how if I was an apple I would die. I wrote short stories, with horrid illustrations of spiders with only 6 or 7 legs, that were actually portraits’ of people I knew or made up. The stories were filled with adventure and excitement… so much so, that there would be an adventure on every page. Once you started reading the crap I’d written the entire story wouldn’t make any sense; this coming from a child of 7.

Over the years, I stopped writing fantasy stories and stuck to keeping a secret journal. I always wrote in it, and even now I still have one. It records everything I do in everyday life. I didn’t look back into writing until the tender age of 13 when a friend started writing her own stories. That motivated me to try again. I didn’t and thus I didn’t write for another 3 years. Finally, when I hit 16, I started writing again. I started a fantasy/horror called Hell’s Babe and started writing about the life before the character ended up in hell. I then got so into it, I just had to start the sequel and the third book in the series. I wrote and wrote and wrote. Then something happened… and I stopped writing for a long time.

I got a laptop when I was like 17 or 18… and the same evening I got it I installed Microsoft Word and started writing a new story. A few weeks later I was rudely awoken my the ringing of my phone which was right next to my head. It was an old friend who asked me to go to lunch and shopping with him as our other friend was unable to go. Just my luck! During our uber fun day, we went into the Virgin Music store (which is like iTunes… except it’s a shop where you can physically see and touch potential purchases… and T-Shirts and stuff, but it closed down or changed names or something… I don’t know…), and we wondered over the book section upstairs. There were lots of books, definitely a selection of books that would match the clothes and the music and film in store. I picked up a book that looked quite fascinating and when I saw the price I could have wet myself… it was £2!! A BARGAIN!!

Anyway, so I started reading it immediately and was hooked from the start. After reading it I had already purchased the second book and read that. By then I had already taken a break from the 63 pages of a story I had started. I knew I wanted to make my stories more personal, in that the main character was a little like me, but a single, lost, virgin-type girl who was finding her own way in the world. I knew I wanted to write stories about individuals who find their own paths through triumph. So I started buzzing. I wrote lots and lots and they seemed great. A few of the stories I’ve written so far need to be drafted now and others I need to finish. I’m proud that I have a talent. I’m proud that I find inspiration in almost anything. All I have to do now is continue to work hard and hopefully, with some help, I’ll get my manuscripts published.

Who knows huh?

Wish me luck! X

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

