Sy Calaelen

I Feel Like I Do Wicca Wrong

2 Comments


I’m not sure what it is, but I get this nagging feeling every time I read wiccan blogs, books or articles or watch YT videos, I feel like I’m not practising properly. I know I am living the life of the witch correctly, but the whole phenomenon of living my own life without copying other people makes me feel odd. Don’t get me wrong I love living the way I do, it’s fun, educational, emotional and well frankly… unique. I am proud to be an eclectic witch, but I can’t help but feel numbed down because everyone else I see practice a very similar type of Wicca than I do.

For example, when I call the quarters I call the Four Sons of Horus, I do a libation every so often to Apollo and other sun Gods like Helios, Aset, Nebet-Het, Sekhmet my matron etc. I like to work with the energies of the sun as well as the moon. My Sabbat celebrations are slightly different to others as I follow a set of festivals and holy days that were used during the Ancient Kingdoms. I am going to celebrate The Resurrection of Osiris on May 1, whilst everyone else will follow the rite of Beltaine. I love my life and the magick within; it spurs me on everyday to push past my potential!

Does anyone celebrate Gods birthdays besides Buddha?? I mean Apollo day is coming up on the 7th of the 7th, what will you do? And the annual Roman festival of Jupiter is coming up again on the 15th of May, anyone doing anything special?? You see my point… I’m a total loner with this… but I would love to know what things others do that make them feel unique too. It would be grand!!

You all inspire me in ways I can’t explain and it’s wonderful! Keep up the good work and may the Gods be with you!!

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

2 thoughts on “I Feel Like I Do Wicca Wrong

  1. Don’t worry, you are not the only one who feels that way. I was just thinking to myself last night “Am I really a Witch? Am I Wiccan? I haven’t found my patrons gods yet. I don’t have this herb or that tool, or that book that everyone is reading.” Time and time again I would think that because I’m not conforming to the ideas or concept of how Wicca should be? I think all of our experiences are unique to us.

    I’m a solitary witch and a loner too, so I know how it feels. But I also, enjoy seeing or reading about how people practice. I have come to the point where I don’t need to follow or conform I think some people follow books to the letter instead of their own intuition. I wouldn’t worry about it too much.
    Blessed be

  2. Ultimately even if witches follow similar paths their own personal rituals and practices will all be different. Tool will be different or there will be no tools at all. Don’t ever let anyone tell you that you’re practicing anything wrong, it’s hateful witches like these that ruin the community. If it feels right to you then keep doing it.

    You will never be completely alone in your beliefs but be thankful for your individuality! Too many modern witches fall into a mindless rut and never truly feel the power of their Gods.

Leave a Reply

