Sy Calaelen

Knowing Your Patron Gods

1 Comment


This blog is taken form a freehand thing I was randomly writing which ended up into a 17 page document, that may be developed into a book. Sorry… another Wicca book… So it may not make much sense completely but I’ve worked hard to make it understandable.

________________________
Knowing Your Patron Gods

There are many moments in life that we will remember and sometimes celebrate as significant days. The birth of younger siblings or your own children, the day of your wedding, getting a pet or even crashing your first car. These are all significant moments in life. When you find your spiritual path, with the knowledge and feeling that what you are doing is right is a moment in itself. When you look into the world of the Gods, you’ll know which Gods and pantheons you’ll like and through the use of symbols within stories you’ll know when a God has contacted you or even chosen you as His or Her priest.
Read the following blogs I had written a while ago. This is one way in which the Gods came to me. Others receive dreams or get contacted through tarot cards! They will contact you in a way that is special for you and them. Ideally you shouldn’t openly talk about how they contact you as it’s a personal thing, but it’s totally up to you. Think of them as being your best friends, if they tell you something you can tell others but you won’t tell them too much as it’s a ‘secret code’ thing. So check out the blog so you don’t have to go searching for them:

Cernunnos: http://ecwitch.blogspot.com/2009/08/path-to-magickal-enlightenment-forest.html

Cerridwen: http://ecwitch.blogspot.com/2009/08/path-to-magickal-enlightenment-celtic.html

That’s just a little about my interactions with these two Celtic Gods. I’ve done many contact rituals and meditations for both and other Gods and Goddesses I work with. Most Wiccan’s will tell you that you should have only 1 patron God and one matron Goddess. I started my path on the Wiccan road but as time went on I found I liked working with other Gods and Goddesses, and this was one of the many reasons why the term Witch suited me better. One thing you shouldn’t do however is work with a few Gods and alienate other Gods, they will not take favouritism lightly. A great way to work with your patrons is to use a particular type of magic that you know a certain God or Goddess could help you with. For me, when I do a divination reading for someone I always light a purple candle in honour of Cerridwen because she is associated with having gifts of magick and divination. Recently I have decided on looking into Apollo who is a Greek God, who is known to have the gift of prophecy so once I find his symbolic colours I’ll have a candle burning for him too. When you do devotions, meditations, rituals and most spells you should include all the Gods, by saying something like, ‘Lord and Lady be with me through this rite,’ or something like ‘May the Gods and Goddesses let me honour thee tonight…’ Believe me the last thing you want to do is piss an ancient God off!

The next few blogs will have link to this one and I’ll do videos on various forms of paganism through other cultures which will include my crappy attempt at explaining creation stories for some of them too! Cringe!

BB x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

One thought on “Knowing Your Patron Gods

  1. wow, this was great Sy ^_^ It gave me plenty of insight into how to interact with my Gods in the future and made me realise I’m kinda neglecting my God and focusing too much on my Goddess 😀 *woops!*
    Would love to read the whole 17-page-whopper 🙂 If you decide to make it into a book, good luck on that 😉

Leave a Reply

