Sy Calaelen

My Way To Wicca Ep. 4 – Individuality Man!

4 Comments


This is from an old entry I did on TheNeopagans.com:

It all coincides with happened today…

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Now All I Do Is Cry Beacuse I’m Confused After So Long;
March 19, 2009 at 4:30am
thought and believed that Wicca was a religion/lifestyle that promotes growth of ones mind, intuition, knowledge and the understanding of positivity in all things. I understand you have to be kind and loving to everyone and everything. Besides understanding all of that and arranging it into your life, but don’t forget who you are as a whole etc.

That’s great. But after almost 9 years of reading loads and having a great interest in other Pagan religions, I’ve always had this annoying voice criticising me, telling me i shouldn’t learn or bother with anything other than witchcraft. To me I know that Wicca is apart of the Pagan paths so why not show interest in the other Pagan paths? I have a friend who is a practising Druid due to family tradition. I have another close friend who grew up as a practising Buddhist. I go to the gym with 2 women who are currently training to be Yoga teachers (Yogis i think…). So naturally I wanted to learn more about what they do. I read in a book by Silver Ravenwolf that said something along the lines of, different civilisations use different gods and goddesses and you can use these deities in your own spells.

I hadn’t seen my neighbour in a few years as she had moved away, so I felt free to explore! But now she’s back in with her mum. She now tells me I shouldn’t look at other pagan paths or deities, only to follow Diana etc. I don’t mind but I’m happy with what I’m doing. When I told her to leave me alone, she then turned around and told me I shouldn’t call myself a Wiccan. That upset me, a lot…

I’m confused and pissed off! The majority of practises I do are Wiccan. Theban, alchemy (still at beginners stage), spells etc. But I meditate and do divination too.

argh!!!!!!!!

LOST!!!! now all I do is cry because I’m confused after so long…

bb

_____________________________________________________________________________________

So heres today’s vid… it is quite negative and I apologise…

BB x

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

4 thoughts on “My Way To Wicca Ep. 4 – Individuality Man!

  1. This makes B-ren emo….=(

  2. It’s a pretty common practice to discourage people from exploring different approaches, especially when they’re just learning the basics. This applies to any art.
    But I totally agree with you that people shouldn’t be discouraged or prevented from following their own path. Every step (or even misstep) eventually leads us to where we are meant to be.
    Follow your path, your heart, your destiny. You really have no other choice.
    G

  3. The thing about Wicca is that it has a view of combining all different religions, all different gods and goddesses into one. Your friend sounds like a traditionalist, someone maybe into Stregheria, and Greco-Roman reconstructionism. She is obviously not eclectic like you, and maybe that’s something you need to point out, that you are on different paths right now. If you feel you want to learn about something, you should go for it! Follow your heart! There is something calling to you… I don’t think you have quite found that security of home…

Leave a Reply

