Sy Calaelen

My Tool Box So Far…)O(

Leave a comment



I have just assembled my magickal tool box and thought it would be cool to write a little something about each tool, and what they mean to me. So, here goes!

From left to right as follows:

Water/Holy Water Bottle:
I got this bottle as a gift from an old friend years ago, but after I finished using the original contents (which was soap). I then cleaned it thoroughly and used it as a water bottle to store my altar water. I use a separate dish to make holy water.

Salt:
This is a mixture of salt, fine ground salt and sea salt. I use this to make holy water too.

Chalice:
I got this from a charity shop. It was never used which rocked, I use this to give offerings to the Lord and Lady at Sabbats etc. I don’t drink alcohol so I don’t drink from it; I drink juice from a different chalice. It’s shaped the same way but smaller and made from the same blue glass as the bottle.

Red Candle:
The red candle represents me. Or my magickal self… if that makes any sense… I read in Wicca, by Scott Cunningham, that the red candle represents you. To me I totally agree but for me red is my favourite colour, I’m a Leo and one of the colours that represent the fire zodiac signs happens to be red… for Aries actually… hehe! Borrowed! So the candle represents me, my blood and my heart and love for the craft.

White Candle:
I don’t have a great deal of money so I don’t have a God or Goddess statue (yet!). White represents the Goddess.

Black Candle:
Black represents the God.

Wand:
This is my wand… so far!! I’m making it myself, and the ribbon isn’t tight enough so I’ll have to re-do it. It is quite an old wand; I found the piece on the ground on my way home from school when I was 12. I looked up in an old Wicca book that you can make your own wands, but you should find a small branch and ask the tree if you can have it. If the tree says it’s okay to have it, go back the next day with salt. Sprinkle the salt around the foot of the tree and take the branch and thank it. Luckily for me, I found the twig I wanted already broken and on the ground. It came from an Elder Flower tree. I didn’t immediately take it home however, I spoke to it and said if I was meant to take it should stay put for 3 days. I went home, bowed at my altar (at the time) and asked the Gods to protect it. 3 days later I went back down the alley way to see if it was still there. The alley in which I found it happens to be right in between two middle schools. Surely kids would have walked to and from school kicking and playing with the twigs? Yep, I was right they did. The tree had been torn and broken. I was saddened by this. I walked up the alley way to see if the twig that found me was intact, and it was! With a £5 stuck under it too! It was destined to be mine!!

That’s the story of my wand, I won’t replace it, and if push comes to shove then I’ll buy a new one from a metaphysical store but keep my original handy.

Athame:
I don’t know the full story of it, but it belonged to a friend of a friend. It hadn’t been used and for some reason as my friend told me about it over the phone I felt a connection with it. I didn’t even know what it looked like but I knew I would cherish and love it. The day came when I went to see my friend, and to my surprise he took it out of his holdall and handed it to me. I didn’t think he meant I could have it for real! But its mine, my first and final Athame! I finally have an Athame! I had been looking for one for bloody ages! 6 years to be exact! And now, after such a long time I have one. This Athame is super special for a million reasons but most importantly it’s special because my new-super-cherished-best-pagan-heathen-druid-buddy gave it to me! So thank you, you know who you are!

Boline:
The Boline or working knife is meant to have a white handle, mine was plain wood then I painted it red. I don’t know why I painted it red… spur of the moment thing. It works just as good though, that’s all that matters for now. It belonged to my aunt and she never used it. She then said I could have it. It was originally meant to be my first Athame but it didn’t feel like one so I never used it as one. It wasn’t meant to be! Lol!

My tools so far are like the little parts of myself, the missing elements of what makes me a unique and magickal individual. People who have tools might say the same thing. They’re not just objects; there is something more to having your own tools. There’s a sparkle there… What’s your tool box like??

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

