Sy Calaelen

Just a Simple Reason for Why I Love Books

Leave a comment


Books are a great way to escape the real world for a while. You enter the world of some character and you listen to their thoughts. You are basically walking in someone else’s shoes. This is a great feeling, especially if you’re at a point in your life where you are trying to figure yourself out, let alone the life or situation of the character. There are tons of books out there that can be used as a great way to have a laugh, or to deal with situations you can’t deal with in the real world. They give you the same sort of response a film does, when you want to look at someone else’s difficulties.

Coming into my own being and understanding how the female mind and body works is confusing and stressful enough, especially if you have to deal with it on your own without your mother to help or give you support. So I didn’t know where to go or who to talk to; some how I dealt with it. Around the age when I noticed everyone was changing, I needed something to call my own. That’s when I found Shanghai Baby by Wei Hui. The character Coco, is someone I can relate to in a number of ways. She is torn between two lovers… I wasn’t and still not, just to point that out! But you read about her and realise she is surrounded by all sorts of people, like me. But the one thing you realise about her, is the fact that she only has herself, like me. She is breaking into a world of social change and acceptance and it’s a riveting life tale.

Another form of reading that I love are COMICS! These books give the reader a visual sense to the story and you feel as though you are there. I love a good thriller or gangster and horror book, and in this sense, comics play on that heavily and really well. My favourite comics at the moment are 100 Bullets, by Brian Azzarello and Eduardo Risso. Hellblazer and House of Mystery.

I love a good book is all I’m saying. If you haven’t read anything lately then don’t worry. Just keep an eye out. Hopefully one day you’ll see a book by me, who knows?

Books…

I love books. What can I say?

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

