Sy Calaelen

What the Hell is a Shadow Journal Sy??

Leave a comment


A shadow journal, to put it loosely is a journal that holds all of my more practical stuff that happens in my magickal life. It’s connected yet separated from my BOS. In this book I write up recipes, herbal recipes, pictures and diagrams etc. So basically it’s a work book, that is and can be messy at times. My BOS is a book I wrap up and keep hidden in my house. I don’t use it, unless it’s for a spell or ritual, or if I’m updating and adding entries. I use this book a lot in the kitchen to cook or make drinks, and obviously my hands do get dirty.

My BOS is something I keep for special days or events so that the energies involved don’t get mixed up with other energies floating around. I wrap it up like my wand and athame. I don’t need to do this, neither does anyone else, it’s just because I’m a neat freak and I love to organise things.

I write all sorts of stuff in it and so far its kind of fun, but like the BOS I keep it private. If I have a dream or a strange experience with de ja vu for example, I write these events in my shadow journal. When I interpret dreams and stuff, or if I find information I like then I’ll write it in the shadow journal and at the bottom of the entry I’ll write something like this: Dream Symbols page 145 of BOS; as a reference.

Its hard to explain but its something I use, I have met one other person who also has a similar one. I started my shadow journal because of the books, Teen Witch and To Ride a Silver Broomstick both by Silver RavenWolf. They both suggested you get a notebook to record stuff and use as a workbook and journal. I named it a Shadow Journal because it was a catchy name, and it connects it with my BOS.

Its just a little something.

BB x
Sy

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

