Sy Calaelen

12/08/07 – “Don’t go searching, wait patiently”

Leave a comment


For a long time I wanted to give up on finding love. Not love as in true love but a mini love like it with a guy I can call my own, my world. It got the point where I would divine a lot with my tarot cards, I-Ching and runes. I would ask little things like: ‘Will I find love this year?’, ‘Will I get married?’, ‘Will a guy ask me to be his girlfriend?’. I found I kept on asking the same question through different form and eventually they all came up with the same answer: ‘Not yet! You will but just hold on!’ well, the stars didn’t reveal the answer like that it was a lot more subtle.

I decided to take matters into my own hands by flirting a little but it didn’t work so I would spend hours at a time up in room listening to how my friends’ partners were nice or bad to them. I wanted someone to talk about, someone who would talk about me through love. A few months back I asked my friend Ellie what magazines she’s reading now, it was a random questions but she said that after leaving Bedford she continued reading our favourite magazine (at the time) Cosmo Girl. When she turned 17 she was introduced to Cosmopolitan. I did buy a Cosmo magazine a long time ago but I didn’t understand it the words were complicated. I bought Junes issue of Cosmopolitan and fell in love with the articles and fashion so I have started buying an issue every month. Hopefully I’ll introduce Cosmo to Sarah.

Each month I try to commit to memory little tips and quotes from the ‘Single Girl & Life’ pages. At first being single scared me a lot and I really thought love had given up on me like people do all the time. after a while I made up a question I should ask the I-Ching cards. I asked, “Should I give up on love?” the cards revealed a kind and caring answer, the answer the universe had been throwing at me for so long. It read ‘Don’t go searching. Wait patiently.’ At first I questioned about how I should give up on my paranoia but some how with the help of Cosmo I began loving my single life, even if that meant I wouldn’t see any of my friends since they are all busy with their lovers.

BB

Sy xx

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

