Sy Calaelen

02/04/07 – What is a best friend?

Leave a comment


I was contemplating what the term ‘best friend’ actually meant to me. I was in the shower soaking wet and covered in lavender bubbles when I thought of this term. So here is a list of what I expect a best friend to be/have/do:

Someone who you can talk to.

They don’t find you weird.

They are caring and really cool.

You can do really stupid things with them and they don’t care.

You can spend loads of time with them and they won’t get bored of you.

They laugh at your stupid jokes.

You love their favourite music, movies, books etc. and they love yours.

They are out going and fun to chill with.

They don’t lie to you unless it’ a joke.

They won’t leave you out of parties or group sessions.

They won’t reject you.

They are honest and kind.

They don’t criticise you, they just love you for who you are.

You don’t have to invite yourself over to there house. They visit you a lot too.

Who is/who are my best friends? I thought about that but I only have one super-times-infinity best friend and that’s Ellie B. Even though she lives far away from me we are as tight as ever. I really want to go see her again so we can catch up!

But right now I am still unsure about some people I hang with. Do they really like me? Do they actually think I am worth being friends with? I had a crappy time at high school. I met them and I wasn’t afraid to tell anyone that they were my best friends. But they changed; she has rejected me for someone else and he just stopped talking to me all together. She doesn’t really know how much she is hurting me but I really don’t think she would care if I told her and I’ve now ignored him for life.

Okay, so I started to make friends with other people and it was a little bumpy but they all seemed really cool. A long time ago I would have been able to say they were my best friends too but their true colours came to the surface and it seems I can only say 2/3/4 of them are considered to be my best friends. But whether I am considered a friend to them is whole different story.

While all this goes on I tell my best friend everything and she understands. She’s special, funny and a crazy gal at times but that’s what a friend is supposed to be right? We argue about the smallest things but we’re really happy! She’s the sister I wish I had, the friend I wish everyone should have! I’m lucky that I have that sort of friend even if everyone I meet gradually begin to hate me! 🙂

Author: Sy Calaelen

Sy Calaelen is a British writer, blogger and Youtube vlogger, though she isn't filming at the moment. English literature graduate and future social work graduate. Both sites will focus on literary reviews, book lists, comic books and nerd chat, writing and novel tips, and discussions in magick, paganism and the occult. A mixture of everything from her. Reach out on social media from Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram, GoodReads, and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

