I Am No Justine! Freedom and Thought So Far

Leave a comment


I’m off with the fairies!

Not literally. I’m a magickal kind of girl, but I highly doubt fairies entering my boudoir just to say hello. I’ve been missing for some time, and it just comes down to work and college, and sadly contracting pharyngitis yet again (it’s the pre-curser to tonsillitis, but it’s not as bad so if you get it, go to the doc and rest up). I will get back to Youtube at some point, but I think I need to just stop for a while and only deal with comments and emails. I’m slowly handing out the email address you folks can contact me at, so just comment below requesting it.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been looking into Libertinism due to my sudden re-kindled love of the Marquis de Sade (a quick rendition of his life is below, but read about him online, and watch Quills for a rendition of the last days of his life – Stephen Moyer is in it!). Now, if you know who he is and what he has done with the long life he had I implore you do not turn your lip up at him at too much, just like him a teeny tiny bit. He stood for something that people today take for granted which is ultimate freedom in all things, especially sex, but we shan’t go there. I would never ever think of living my life the way he did, in and out of jail and being dubbed the world famous sexual abuse pervert! However, the basic idea of living your life free from constriction is a value I adhere to. Thank the Gods ‘Harm none’ was a line I could happily live in line with. I want to be as free as I can, especially with my mind, and how I carry myself. I am the annoying girl people hate working with as I love company, talking and debating on various issues, and they don’t. If they could spend a day in total silence and only speaking when putting someone down, they would. Sadly, where I live and work there is no one here I can be myself with, so I wait until I get 5 minutes to go crazy with my friends and lovely best buddy Phoenix and his craziness!

I do day dream about how I wish my life could be, if I finally find the career of my dreams. I would be an eccentric woman, covered in beautiful tattoos, a great love of being a mild hippy and spending non-alcoholic weekends with films, spells and a circle of friends who would be freaks like me. Have any of you ever thought of an ideal world, where you would adopt many beliefs and thoughts to create your mind, to go as far as living them as much as you could? I know that’s a long question, but like I said there is no one here I can ask, and get a decent enough answer, besides my philosophy teacher and students. So answer! Please…

*  *  *

My Super Quick Introduction to the Marquis de Sade

First things first, he was a libertine and his life also mirrored that of individualism. He is most famous for his works, one of which was turned into a movie over a hundred years after his death and was banned; that work is called The 120 Days of Sodom, which is not for the faint of heart at all! It is gruesome in so many ways, but I admire him because he did something most people are either naively shunned from by other people, or they just react so quickly that they fail to see the message. He also, anonymously published Juliette and another book titled Justine which was so shocking that they pissed Napoleon off and he ordered for the writer to be executed. He spent more than half of his life in asylums and prisons. He came from a prestigious family, but the way that he lived his life is shocking. If I ever met him I’d probably ask him what was wrong with his head, run away and hide, taking all the children of the city with me, but sit and read his stories just to get firsthand knowledge of he wrote.

 *  *  *

Don’t go assuming I’m a weird pervert or anything, I just happen to find out about him during my first year of film school and I guess I liked his philosophical view, which I think went along the lines of – Whatever you think you should shield from view will be made apparent by other forces, and if you think you should try to control the masses you will only fail. Some people are naive and will jump on any band wagon that comes by, whilst others will gain their own mind, but it’s down to the individual in how they choose to live their lives. Some by crime and the uttermost nastiness in order to satisfy themselves, or people like me live to the fullest with morals and the common sense that we feel everyone else should have. However you choose to live is up to you. – I think that’s right…?

x

Author: Sy Calaelen

93, I'm Sy, a new Thelemite, but a long time witch, with my roots stretching back to the tender age of 11. I'm greatly influenced by Thelema, Hermeticism, Kemeticism, the Occult, Buddhism, Hinduism, Yoga and Witchcraft having trained myself for so long. Catch me on Twitter, Tumblr, YouTube and Pinterest. I'm also a student of English Literature and teaching. Big time fangirl of Doctor Who, Shakespeare, Supernatural, Boardwalk Empire, Michael Fassbender and all things Sherlock Holmes' and a keen Trekkie. 93, 93/93

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,309 other followers